Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2021: Bvlgari wins best watch of the year


By Kelly Lim

Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2021: Bvlgari wins best watch of the year

Watch enthusiasts, the results have arrived! Nearly one week ago on November 4, the watch industry came together (IRL) for its first post-pandemic event in Geneva to honour its finest at the 21st edition of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG), also known as the Oscars of watchmaking. The annual competition spans 14 different categories, ranging from complicated calendar watches to special awards that include Audacity as well as more budget-friendy groups such as the “Petite Aiguille”, to represent the best of horology for the year.

For 2021, 84 finalists competed across the categories in which a panel of judges––which includes this year’s jury president Nick Foulkes, an English historian, author and journalist, and other jury members which includes writers, historians, retailers and industry leaders from all around the world––then make the final decision.

Taking home the grand prize for the best watch of the year, Bvlgari’s Octo Finissimo Titanium Perpetual Calendar was awarded the “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix 2021. As the world’s slimmest perpetual calendar, it represents one of Bvlgari’s seven world records for micro-watchmaking and brings a stunning mix of technological innovation and iconic design with its 5.8mm thick case and 2.75mm thick movement caliber BVL 305.

Another noteworthy accolade is the iconic watch category, which was awarded to Audemars Piguet for their Royal Oak “Jumbo” Extra-Thin Platinum. No surprise there––the Royal Oak is one of the most emblematic luxury sport watches around, and the award-winning model in question features a smoked green dial and transparent sapphire caseback that allows a peek of its 22-carat gold oscillating weight.

Without further ado, click through the gallery below to see the award-winning timepieces of the most popular categories: 

See the full list of the GPHG 2021 winners here, and read all about last year’s top winner here

Explore More