KL, Selangor and Putrajaya (Klang Valley) to enter Phase Two of NRP from 10 September


By Natalie Khoo

KL, Selangor and Putrajaya (Klang Valley) to enter Phase Two of NRP from 10 September

The government has announced today that Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Selangor will move to Phase Two of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) beginning Friday, 10 September.

In his announcement, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob clarified that all three will be considered as one area—Klang Valley, which means that movement between Selangor, KL and Putrajaya will be permitted, without any roadblocks.

Ismail said this was decided by the Special Committee on Covid-19 Pandemic Management which convened today. He added that the relaxations allowed will be the same as other Phase Two states, as determined by the National Security Council (MKN).

Some of the key relaxations include:

  • Interdistrict travel for fully vaccinated individuals
  • Interstate travel for long distance married couples who are fully vaccinated
  • Interstate travel for fully vaccinated parents to meet their children below 18 years of age
  • Dine-in for fully vaccinated customers, and
  • Tourist activities within the state for the fully vaccinated (hotels and homestays included)

The announcement comes barely a day after the government loosened the SOPs for the art and entertainment sector, which applies to those who are fully vaccinated in all states, including those in Phase One.

In addition to this, the government has allowed both indoor and outdoor sports and recreation facilities, except gyms, to operate by appointment basis for fully vaccinated customers in Phase One onwards beginning 10 September.

Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin has also revealed in a tweet that his ministry is looking into developing guidelines for gyms and indoor fitness centres, which “will not take long”.

Meanwhile, florists, nurseries, outdoor equipment shops, and housing galleries will be allowed to operate in states under Phase One onwards from 10 September.

The government will also allow more flexibility for hairdresser, barber, and beauty salon operations in Phase Two and Three. More details on the leeways will be updated on the official MKN website.

After this Friday, only Kedah and Johor will remain under Phase One of the NRP, as KL, Putrajaya, and Selangor joins Sabah, Pahang, Terengganu, Perak, Melaka, and Kelantan. Meanwhile, Sarawak, Negeri Sembilan, and Perlis are in Phase Three. Labuan remains the only Federal Territory in Phase Four.

Read more SOPs for the fully vaccinated in all Phases here.

Explore More