EMCO: SOPs for affected areas in KL and Selangor from 3 to 16 July


By Adelina Tan

EMCO: SOPs for affected areas in KL and Selangor from 3 to 16 July

Several areas in Kuala Lumpur and districts in Selangor will be placed under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO) beginning 3 July (Saturday) until 16 July (Friday).

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob asserts that imposing stricter SOPs is needed given the rise in Covid-19 cases, especially throughout the Klang Valley.

“Selangor recorded an average of 1,800 to 1,900 cases daily, while Kuala Lumpur recorded between 600 to 1,000 cases daily. All districts in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur recorded more than 12.1 Covid-19 case incidents per 100,000 residents.

“The R-naught (projected data on the infectiousness of a disease) in both states is still around 1.0 and does not indicate a downward trend. This is a worrying situation when we take into account population density, and the contagiousness of the three new variants which are much more dangerous,” he announced in a statement.

According to him, all routes in the EMCO areas will be closed and guarded by the police. We take this to mean that there will be more roadblocks along roads to and surrounding the affected areas.



Affected areas in Kuala Lumpur:

PPR Batu Muda, Batu

PPR Sri Semarak

Flat Seksyen 2, Wangsa Maju

Flat Seksyen 1, Wangsa Maju

Kg Padang Balang

Taman Koperasi Polis (Phase 1 and 2)

Flat Sri Sabah

Kampung Puah

PPR Kg Baru Air Panas, Setiawangsa

Flat Desa Pandan (termasuk Baiduri & Delima), Titiwangsa

Kg. Batu Muda, Batu

PPR Kerinchi, Lembah Pantai

Tmn Ikan Emas

Bandar Baru Sentul

Affected districts/areas in Selangor:




Sg. Buloh

Bukit Raja





Hulu Kelang


Hulu Langat:






Hulu Langat





Kuala Langat:

Tanjung 12 (1)

Tanjung 12 (2)

Teluk Panglima Garang








Kuala Selangor:


Bestari Jaya


Tanjung Karang

Hulu Selangor:



Ulu Yam


Movement control:

  • Only (1) representative per EMCO household is allowed to leave the home to buy basic necessities within a radius of 10km. All other residents, including children, are not allowed to leave their homes/
  • The Health Ministry will conduct targeted screening tests on residents in EMCO areas.
  • Inter-district and interstate travel allowed only for Covid-19 vaccination at assigned vaccination centers (PPV)—appointment details on the MySejahtera app, website or SMS must be shown as proof.
  • Airports and ports are allowed to operate as usual; but public transport activities and services such as trains, commuters, buses, airports, taxis, ferries, e-hailing services must operate at no more than 50 per cent capacity.
  • Only two (2) passengers including the driver allowed in taxis and e-hailing vehicles.
  • No movement outside the residential area is allowed after 8pm except for emergencies or with the permission of PDRM.

Sports and recreation:

  • All sports, social, recreational and cultural activities are not allowed.

Businesses/sectors allowed to operate and opening hours:

  • Restaurants, shops/food stalls, food trucks, roadside hawkers, street hawkers, food courts/hawker centers, roadside food stalls/kiosks are allowed to open from 8am to 8pm.
  • Residents of EMCO areas are allowed to purchase food by takeaway/drive-thru (subject to movement restriction conditions) or delivery.
  • Grocery stores, convenience stores, and daily necessities stores are allowed to open from 8am to 8pm.
  • Hospitals, clinics and medical laboratories are allowed to open for up to 24 hours or according to the conditions of their license.
  • Pharmacies, drug stores, animal clinics, and pet food stores are allowed to open from 8am to 8pm.
  • Petrol stations are allowed to open from 6am to 8pm; petrol stations on highways with tolls can open for up to 24 hours.
  • Wholesale markets are allowed to open from 12am to 6am.
  • Public markets, permanent farmers markets (PTK), and MyFarm Outlets (MFO) are allowed to open from 6am to 2pm.
  • Only the essential services sector (such as utilities, cleaning and sewage) are allowed to operate from 8am to 8.00 pm.
  • Only food factories producing basic daily necessities such as rice, white bread (loaf), sugar, cooking oil, wheat flour, fresh milk, infant milk powder, medicines, and face masks are allowed to operate.
  • Permission to work granted only for essential services or to perform official government duties, with a letter of confirmation from the employer or a valid employee pass.
  • Employees of non-essential services are not allowed to leave the EMCO area and cannot work during the EMCO period.
  • Employers are required to allow employees to work from home.
  • Only employees of essential services, approved factories and authorized business premises can use the previously issued MITI letter.

Please take care, stay safe. Reach out to your friends, family, community or qualified professionals/organisations should you require assistance or someone to talk to.

For mental health resources: Click here

For Covid-19 initiatives and food drives in Malaysia: Click here



For more Covid-19 news and updates, click here

Explore More