The CFDA Fashion Awards 2019: Who are the nominees?


By Joan Kong

The CFDA Fashion Awards 2019: Who are the nominees?

Just days after Tom Ford’s appointment as the new CFDA Chairman was announced (he replaced Diane von Furstenberg who was at the helm for 13 years), the council has released its list of nominees ahead of the June 3 event at the Brooklyn Museum in New York. For the first time, Swarovski—which has been the main sponsor for the awards for 17 years—will not be partnering with the organisation, although the Emerging Designer of the Year Award and the Positive Change Award will both still be given out.

The nominees this year include a mixture of household and up-and-coming names. The contenders for Womenswear Designer of the Year include Brandon Maxwell who recently landed a judging role on the Project Runway reboot; Rodarte’s Kate and Laura Mulleavy who designed Brie Larson’s stunning gown at the Captain Marvel premiere; and Marc Jacobs, whose Spring/Summer 2019 collection is already on our to-buy list. Menswear-wise, new talents including Mike Amiri of Amiri (a Los Angeles street-cool label) and Kerby Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss (the winner of the 2018 CFDA Fashion Fund prize) are both nominated for the first time. But the designer who is nominated for the most award this year, goes to Virgil Abloh who represents Off-White.


Check out the full list below:

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Brandon Maxwell

Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte

Marc Jacobs

Rosie Assoulin

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan


Menswear Designer of the Year

Mike Amiri for Amiri

Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

Rick Owens

Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York

Virgil Abloh for Off-White


Accessory Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewellery

Tabitha Simmons

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

Virgil Abloh for Off-White


Emerging Designer of the Year

Beth Bugdaycay for Foundrae

Catherine Holstein for Khaite

Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Heron Preston

Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud


Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award

Sarah Burton was Alexander McQueen

Founder’s Award in Honour of Eleanor Lambert

Carine Roitfeld


Media’s Award in Honour of Eugenia Sheppard

Lynn Yaeger


Positive Change Award

Eileen Fisher

Explore More