Malaysians, Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin has announced his Cabinet members

Malaysians, Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin has announced his Cabinet members

Who will be leading us?

Text: Ronn Tan

Editor: Rachel Au

Image: Getty Images

New Cabinet members were presented to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong by the eighth Prime Minister at the National Palace today

After a week of confusion, Muhyiddin Yassin was announced as the new Prime Minister of Malaysia on 1 March 2020. Officially the eighth person to fill the position, he took over from the former and seventh Prime Minister Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The next big question was who will fill the new Cabinet of Malaysia. Finally, this morning, the Prime Minister's Office released a Media Statement regarding his intention to present his list of recommended members to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong at the Istana Negara (National Palace).

ICYMI: (i) The new Attorney-General (AG) is Idris Harun (appointed on a two-year contract) and (ii) Latheefa Koya has been succeeded by Azam Baki as the new head of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

The new Cabinet members, as revealed by Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin in Putrajaya today, are:


Prime Minister

YAB Tan Sri Dato' Haji Muhyiddin Bin Haji Mohd. Yassin


Ministry of Finance

Minister: YM Tengku Dato' Sri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz (Senator)

First Deputy: YB Datuk Abd. Rahim Bin Bakeri

Second Deputy: YB Mohd Shahar Bin Abdullah


Ministry of Defence

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Ismail Sabri Bin Yaakob

Deputy: YB Dato' Sri Ikhmal Hisham Bin Abdul Aziz


Ministry of Works

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Haji Fadillah Yusof

Deputy: YB Datuk Dr Shahruddin Bin Md Salleh


Ministry of International Trade and Industry

Minister: YB Dato' Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali

Deputy: Datuk Lim Ban Hong (Senator)


Ministry of Education

Minister: YB Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin

First Deputy: Dato' Dr Mah Hang Soon (Senator)

Second Deputy: YB Muslimin Bin Yahaya


Prime Minister's Department of Malaysia (Economy)

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Mustapa bin Mohamed

Deputy: YB Arthur Joseph Kurup


Prime Minister's Department of Malaysia (Special Functions)

Minister: YB Dato' Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof

Deputy: YB Datin Mastura Binti Yazid


Prime Minister's Department of Malaysia (Law)

Minister: YB Dato' Takiyuddin Bin Hassan

Deputy: YB Dato' Eddin Syazlee Shith


Prime Minister's Department of Malaysia (Islamic Affairs)

Minister: YB Dato' Seri Dr. Hj Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri (Senator)

Deputy: YB Ahmad Marzuk Bin Shaary


Prime Minister's Department of Malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs)

Minister: YB Datuk Seri Panglima Dr. Maximus Johnity Ongkili

Deputy: YB Dato' Hajah Hanifah Hajar Taib


Ministry of Transport

Minister: YB Datuk Seri Ir. Dr. Wee Ka Siong

Deputy: YB Haji Hasbi Bin Haji Habibollah


Ministry of Environment

Minister: YB Dato' Tuan Ibrahim Bin Tuan Man

Deputy: Dato' Dr Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad (Senator)


Ministry of Human Resources

Minister: YB Datuk Seri Saravanan A/L Murugan

Deputy: YB Haji Awang Bin Hashim


Ministry of Federal Territories

Minister: YB Tan Sri Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Annuar Bin Musa

Deputy: YB Dato' Sri Dr Santhara Kumar


Ministry of Women and Family

Minister: YB Datuk Seri Rina Binti Mohd Harun

Deputy: YB Dato' Hajah Siti Zailah Binti Mohd Yusoff


Ministry of Higher Education

Minister: YB Dato' Dr Noraini Binti Ahmad

Deputy: YB Dato' Dr Mansor Bin Othman


Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources

Minister: YB Dato' Dr Shamsul Anuar Hj Nasarah

Deputy: YB Ali Anak Biju


Ministry of Communications and Multimedia

Minister: YB Dato' Seri Saifuddin bin Abdullah

Deputy: YB Datuk Zahidi Bin Zainul Abidin


Minister of Housing and Local Government

Minister: YB Hajah Zuraida Kamaruddin

Deputy: YB Dato' Sri Ismail Bin Abd Mutalib


Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation

Minister: YB Khairy Jamaluddin

Deputy: YB Ahmad Amzad Bin Hashim


Ministry of Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Dr Hj Wan Junaidi bin Tuanku Jaafar

Deputy: YB Datuk Wira Mas Ermieyati Binti Hj Samsudin


Ministry of Home Affairs

Minister: YB Datuk Seri Hamzah Bin Zainuddin

First Deputy: YB Dato' Sri Dr Haji Ismail Bin Haji Mohamed Said

Second Deputy: YB Jonathan Yassin


Ministry of Health

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Dr Adham bin Baba

First Deputy: YB Dato' Dr Noor Azmi bin Ghazali

Second Deputy: YB Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang


Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industries

Minister: YB Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee

First Deputy: YB Datuk Seri Hj Ahmad Bin Hamzah

Second Deputy: YB Dato' Haji Che Abdullah Bin Mat Nawi


Ministry of Rural Development

Minister: YB Datuk Dr Hj Abd Latiff Bin Hj Ahmad

First Deputy: YB Dato' Abdul Rahman Bin Mohamad

Second Deputy: YB Dato' Henry Sum Agong


Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Minister: YB Dato' Seri Hishammuddin bin Tun Hussein

Deputy: YB Dato' Kamaruddin Jaffar


Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs

Minister: YB Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi

Deputy: YB Dato' Rosol Bin Wahid


Ministry of Primary Industries

Minister: YB Dato' Dr Mohd Khairuddin Bin Aman Razali

First Deputy: YB Dato' Sri Dr Wee Jeck Seng

Second Deputy: YB Willie anak Mongin


Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Hajah Nancy Binti Shukri

Deputy: YB Datuk Dr. Jeffrey G. Kitingan


Ministry of National Unity

Minister: YB Datuk Halimah Binti Mohamed Sadique

Deputy: YB Dato' Sri Tiong King Sing


Ministry of Youth and Sports

Minister: YB Dato' Sri Reezal Merican Bin Naina Merican

Deputy: Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Bin Wan Ahmad Kamal


Spot something? Or rather the lack of a certain position? Yes, there is no Deputy Prime Minister. According to Muhyiddin: "With the senior ministers, there is no need to appoint a deputy prime minister for the time being". Senior members include Mohamed Azmin Ali (International Trade and Industry), Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Defence), Fadillah Yusof (Works), and Mohd Radzi Md Jidin (Education).

In addition, CIMB CEO Tengku Zafrul is appointed senator to helm the Finance Ministry portfolio. Another thing to note is that there is a total of nine women in the new Cabinet (same as the previous Cabinet). Fun fact: This is the largest cabinet to date, with 31 ministers and 38 deputies.

The swearing in ceremony for all the members will take place on 10 March 2020 with the presence of the King at 3pm in Putrajaya.