5 New K-pop groups to stan—BAE173, Aespa, Secret Number and more


By Melissa Foong

5 New K-pop groups to stan—BAE173, Aespa, Secret Number and more

It’s no surprise that K-pop has become a global phenomenon, thanks to its combination of addictive melodies, precise choreography and picture-perfect South Korean idols. With a fine-tuned ability to charm anyone (even non-fans), Korean entertainment companies have been religiously debuting new groups every year—as a seamless way to contribute to the constant evolution of Hallyu (Korean Wave).

Below, we’ve compiled a list of the most recent K-pop rookie groups you can expect to see and hear more from in the near future. Mark our words—these groups may possibly conquer Billboard charts in the coming months, if not… days.

1. Aespa

A new era for K-pop has arrived with the introduction of rookie girl group, aespa (에스파). Debuting under one of the “Big 3” entertainment companies in the industry, SM Entertainment, this group might just be the next Girls Generation. If you know SM Entertainment, they’ve never once came up with a dull concept. The name aespa comes from combining ‘æ’ derived from “Avatar X Experience” and “aspect”. SM has said that the group would explore the theme of “experiencing a new world via the encounter of the ‘avatar’ and your other self”.

The group consists of four members—Karina, Giselle, Winter and NingNing. They debuted on 17 November, 2020 with the digital single “Black Mamba”.

Fandom name: MY (stands for “my precious friend”)

2. Secret Number

With K-pop taking over the world by storm, the appeal is no longer limited to just South Koreans. Secret Number is a five-member girl group comprising stars from all over the globe. Despite their recent debut, they’ve garnered a substantial amount of fans thanks to each member’s unique background—from Japan and Indonesia to USA, showcasing the globalisation of K-pop at its finest.

The group members include Jinny, Denise, Soodam, Dita and Léa. They debuted on 19 May, 2020 with their first single album “Who Dis?”. Fun fact: The music video reportedly scored more than 10 million views on Youtube in just 11 days!

Fandom name: not disclosed yet


Rookie K-pop group, TREASURE (트레저) is deemed to be the next major group for YG Entertainment after Blackpink’s massive success took the world by surprise. This marks the first time that YG has created a 12-membered team, with previous groups comprising no more than seven members. The group underwent vigorous training after being selected from the survival show YG Treasure Box, where 18 hopeful trainees were eliminated. However, a trainee named Ha Yoonbin decided to terminate his contract with the company after expressing his passion to be a soloist rather than a member of a boy band.

The group consists of Hyunsuk, Jihoon, Junkyu, Yedam, Yoshi, Mashiho, Jaehyuk, Asahi, Doyoung, Jeongwoo, Haruto and Junghwan. They debuted on 7 August, 2020 with their first single album “The First Step : Chapter One”. Their song “BOY” from the album managed to top iTunes charts in 19 countries just a few hours after its release.

Fandom name: Treasure Makers 




Explore More