Watch now: #BuroJams with Kyoto Protocol, Paperplane Pursuit and An Honest Mistake

Spotlight on music


By Su Fen Tan

Watch now: #BuroJams with Kyoto Protocol, Paperplane Pursuit and An Honest Mistake

In the fourth #BuroJams session, we made the most out of the 7-seater Audi Q7 (thanks to Audi Malaysia) and took a drive with the frontmen of three prominent local bands—Fuad Alhabshi from Kyoto Protocol, John O of Paperplane Pursuit and An Honest Mistake’s Darren Teh—plus the pulse of the group, guitarist Isaac Ravi, also from Paperplane Pursuit. 

Formed in 2009, 5-piece rock band Kyoto Protocol started off on the right foot when they won second place in the Yamaha Asian Beat Malaysian Finals, and quickly gained traction as they opened for MGMT’s maiden KL concert in 2011. Since then they have earned a nomination in the 2011 Anugerah Industri Muzik (AIM), and gone on to perform in several regional music festivals—the most recent being the just-concluded Rockaway Festival. Pop band Paperplane Pursuit was also founded in 2009, and has been on a steady rise to the top of the local music scene with a number of successful singles, receiving massive airplay on Malaysian radio. They even broke into the Billboard Top 40 Mainstream Indicator Chart in September 2015, peaking at #30 on the chart ahead of Adam Lambert and Maroon 5. Last but not least there is An Honest Mistake, whom made their debut in 2008. A 4-member pop-punk outfit, the band has released three albums and played countless shows across the South East Asian region, garnering a large fanbase along the way.  


Watch the latest #BuroJams episode below to find out what the bands have been up to, and catch them jamming to a couple of nostalgic ’90s hits:


Related stories:

Watch now: #BuroJams with De Fam

Watch now: #BuroJams with Narmi, Reza Salleh and Ali Aiman

Watch now: #BuroJams with Froya and Dasha Logan

Review: Experiencing the comfort and power of Audi Q7 3.0 TFSI quattro


Explore More