The CFDA Fashion Awards 2020: Who are the nominees?


By Joan Kong

The CFDA Fashion Awards 2020: Who are the nominees?

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFA) has released the nominees for the Fashion Awards this year, but unlike past years’ events, you can expect a few major changes to the event this year. Firstly, instead of a live ceremony (which was supposed to take place in June), the winners will be announced on the organisation’s website and social media on September 14.

Secondly, the list will only focus on awarding the top creatives in the fashion designing industry, which means that there won’t be any honoree categories such as the Founder’s Award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Fashion Icon Award and more. However, the council has added two new categories this year that honours the brands that are based outside of the US—Global Women’s Designer of the Year and Global Men’s Designer of the Year.

“In this time of unprecedented challenge and change for our industry, we feel very strongly that it is it important to recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity,” Tom Ford, chairman of the CFDA said in a statement. “We look forward to returning to an in-person celebration honoring the American fashion industry in 2021.”

Below, the names that are contending for the six top awards this year:

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Brandon MaxwellGabriela HearstMarc JacobsTom FordAshley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for BodeKerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer MossThom BrowneTodd SnyderTom Ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Stuart Vevers for CoachGabriela HearstJennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher JewelleryTelfar Clemens for TelfarAshley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christopher John RogersKenneth NicholsonPeter DoReese CooperSarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Women’s Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega VenetaDries Van NotenMiuccia Prada for PradaRick OwensPierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Global Men’s Designer of the Year

Craig GreenKim Jones for DiorDries Van NotenJonathan Anderson for LoeweVirgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Find out last year’s winners here.

Explore More