Oscars 2018: Highlights and winners

The 90th Academy Awards


By Su Fen Tan

Oscars 2018: Highlights and winners

So Matt Damon didn’t make a surprise appearance in returning host Jimmy Kimmel’s opening monologue this time—which included a couple of political jabs and straightforward comments on the ongoing issues of harassment and abuse—but Dame Helen Mirren did. As Kimmel offered the prize of a jet ski to the Oscar winner who gives the shortest speech, Helen Mirren herself presented the $17,999 prize on stage. Mark Bridges, who won Best Costume Design for Phantom Thread took home the prize later that night with a speech clocking in at 30 seconds.

Mary J. Blige made Oscar history when she became the first person to be nominated in both acting and music categories for the same film, and tonight, she set the Dolby Theatre alight as she performed an incredible rendition of her song ‘Mighty River’ from Mudbound:

In a breakaway from tradition, Jennifer Lawrence and Jodie Foster replaced Casey Affleck to present the Best Actress award, which went to Frances McDormand for her performance in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. The actress accepted her award with a powerful speech, calling for the female nominees in the room to stand up together in solidarity, and for the industry to be more inclusive: “I have two words for you: inclusion rider”—a clause that actors can insist to be included in their contracts, requiring cast and crew on a film to meet a certain level of diversity.

No mix-ups (phew) this year as Faye Dunaway and Warren Beatty return to the Oscars stage to present the biggest award of the night—The Shape of Water takes home Best Picture, along with three other awards: Best Director, Production Design and Original Score. 


Best Picture:

Call Me by Your Name

Darkest Hour


Get Out

Lady Bird

Phantom Thread

The Post

[Winner] The Shape of Water

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


Lead Actor:

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread

Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out

[Winner] Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Denzel Washington, Roman J. Israel, Esq.


Lead Actress:

Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water

[Winner] Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Margot Robbie, I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Meryl Streep, The Post


Supporting Actor:

Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project

Woody Harrelson, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water

Christopher Plummer, All the Money in the World

[Winner] Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


Supporting Actress:

Mary J. Blige, Mudbound

[Winner] Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread

Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird

Octavia Spencer, The Shape of Water



Dunkirk, Christopher Nolan

Get Out, Jordan Peele

Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig

Phantom Thread, Paul Thomas Anderson

[Winner] The Shape of Water, Guillermo del Toro


Animated Feature:

The Boss Baby, Tom McGrath, Ramsey Ann Naito

The Breadwinner, Nora Twomey, Anthony Leo

[Winner] Coco, Lee Unkrich, Darla K. Anderson

Ferdinand, Carlos Saldanha

Loving Vincent, Dorota Kobiela, Hugh Welchman, Sean Bobbitt, Ivan Mactaggart, Hugh Welchman


Animated Short:

[Winner] Dear Basketball, Glen Keane, Kobe Bryant

Garden Party, Victor Caire, Gabriel Grapperon

Lou, Dave Mullins, Dana Murray

Negative Space, Max Porter, Ru Kuwahata

Revolting Rhymes, Jakob Schuh, Jan Lachauer


Adapted Screenplay:

[Winner] Call Me by Your Name, James Ivory

The Disaster Artist, Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber

Logan, Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green

Molly’s Game, Aaron Sorkin

Mudbound, Virgil Williams and Dee Rees


Original Screenplay:

The Big Sick, Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani

[Winner] Get Out, Jordan Peele

Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig

The Shape of Water, Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Martin McDonagh



[Winner] Blade Runner 2049, Roger Deakins

Darkest Hour, Bruno Delbonnel

Dunkirk, Hoyte van Hoytema

Mudbound, Rachel Morrison

The Shape of Water, Dan Laustsen


Best Documentary Feature:

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail, Steve James, Mark Mitten, Julie Goldman

Faces Places, JR, Agnès Varda, Rosalie Varda

[Winner] Icarus, Bryan Fogel, Dan Cogan

Last Men in Aleppo, Feras Fayyad, Kareem Abeed, Soren Steen Jepersen

Strong Island, Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes


Best Documentary Short Subject:

Edith+Eddie, Laura Checkoway, Thomas Lee Wright

[Winner] Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405, Frank Stiefel

Heroin(e), Elaine McMillion Sheldon, Kerrin Sheldon

Knife Skills, Thomas Lennon

Traffic Stop, Kate Davis, David Heilbroner


Best Live Action Short Film:

DeKalb Elementary, Reed Van Dyk

The Eleven O’Clock, Derin Seale, Josh Lawson

My Nephew Emmett, Kevin Wilson, Jr.

[Winner] The Silent Child, Chris Overton, Rachel Shenton

Watu Wote/All of Us, Katja Benrath, Tobias Rosen


Best Foreign Language Film:

[Winner] A Fantastic Woman (Chile)

The Insult (Lebanon)

Loveless (Russia)

On Body and Soul (Hungary)

The Square (Sweden)


Film Editing:

Baby Driver, Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss

[Winner] Dunkirk, Lee Smith

I, Tonya, Tatiana S. Riegel

The Shape of Water, Sidney Wolinsky

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Jon Gregory


Sound Editing:

Baby Driver, Julian Slater

Blade Runner 2049, Mark Mangini, Theo Green

[Winner] Dunkirk, Alex Gibson, Richard King

The Shape of Water, Nathan Robitaille, Nelson Ferreira

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Ren Klyce, Matthew Wood


Sound Mixing:

Baby Driver, Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin

Blade Runner 2049, Mac Ruth, Ron Bartlett, Doug Hephill

[Winner] Dunkirk, Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo

The Shape of Water, Glen Gauthier, Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Stuart Wilson, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick


Production Design:

Beauty and the Beast, Sarah Greenwood; Katie Spencer

Blade Runner 2049, Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola

Darkest Hour, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Dunkirk, Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

[Winner] The Shape of Water, Paul D. Austerberry, Jeffrey A. Melvin, Shane Vieau


Original Score:

Dunkirk, Hans Zimmer

Phantom Thread, Jonny Greenwood

[Winner] The Shape of Water, Alexandre Desplat

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, John Williams

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Carter Burwell


Original Song:

‘Mighty River’ from Mudbound, Mary J. Blige

‘Mystery of Love’ from Call Me by Your Name, Sufjan Stevens

[Winner] ‘Remember Me’ from Coco, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez

‘Stand Up for Something’ from Marshall, Diane Warren, Common

‘This Is Me’ from The Greatest Showman, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul


Makeup and Hair:

[Winner] Darkest Hour, Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski, Lucy Sibbick

Victoria and Abdul, Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard

Wonder, Arjen Tuiten


Costume Design:

Beauty and the Beast, Jacqueline Durran

Darkest Hour, Jacqueline Durran

[Winner] Phantom Thread, Mark Bridges

The Shape of Water, Luis Sequeira

Victoria and Abdul, Consolata Boyle


Visual Effects:

[Winner] Blade Runner 2049, John Nelson, Paul Lambert, Richard R. Hoover, Gerd Nefzer

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner, Dan Sudick

Kong: Skull Island, Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza, Mike Meinardus

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Chris Corbould, Neal Scanlan

War for the Planet of the Apes, Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Joel Whist


Explore More