Oscars 2020 winners list: “Parasite” wins Best Picture, Brad Pitt scores Best Supporting Actor, and more


By Ronn Tan

Oscars 2020 winners list: “Parasite” wins Best Picture, Brad Pitt scores Best Supporting Actor, and more

The 92nd Academy Awards is one that we have all been waiting for. It’s as grand as it gets. The 2020 Oscars was held at the Dolby Theatre. As usual, the ceremony honoured the films that were released in 2019. Joker led the pack with 11 nominations whereas the following three films had 10 each—The Irishman, 1917, and Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood. The studio with the most nods is Netflix with a total of 24. Well, Parasite was clearly a big winner this year. Did your favourite thespians, movies, directors, and songs win this time?

Check out the complete roundup of WINNERS below:

Best Picture

Ford V Ferrari (Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping and James Mangold, Producers)The Irishman (Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers)Jojo Rabbit (Carthew Neal and Taika Waititi, Producers)Joker (Todd Phillips, Bradley Cooper and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers)Little Women (Amy Pascal, Producer)Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach and David Heyman, Producers)1917 (Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren and Callum McDougall, Producers)Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood (David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh and Quentin Tarantino, Producers)Parasite (Kwak Sin Ae and Bong Joon Ho, Producers) *WINNER*

Actor in a Leading Role

Antonio Banderas, Pain and GloryLeonardo DiCaprio, Once upon a Time…in HollywoodAdam Driver, Marriage StoryJoaquin Phoenix, Joker *WINNER*Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Actor in a Supporting Role

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the NeighborhoodAnthony Hopkins, The Two PopesAl Pacino, The IrishmanJoe Pesci, The IrishmanBrad Pitt, Once upon a Time…in Hollywood *WINNER*

Actress in a Leading Role

Cynthia Erivo, HarrietScarlett Johansson, Marriage StorySaoirse Ronan, Little WomenCharlize Theron, BombshellRenée Zellweger, Judy *WINNER*

Actress in a Supporting Role

Kathy Bates, Richard JewellLaura Dern, Marriage Story *WINNER*Scarlett Johansson, Jojo RabbitFlorence Pugh, Little WomenMargot Robbie, Bombshell

Animated Feature Film

How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis and Bonnie Arnold)I Lost My Body (Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice)Klaus (Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh and Marisa Román)Missing Link (Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight)Toy Story 4 (Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera) *WINNER*


The Irishman (Rodrigo Prieto)Joker (Lawrence Sher)The Lighthouse (Jarin Blaschke)1917 (Roger Deakins) *WINNER*Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood (Robert Richardson)

Costume Design

The Irishman (Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson)Jojo Rabbit (Mayes C. Rubeo)Joker (Mark Bridges)Little Women (Jacqueline Durran) *WINNER*Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood (Arianne Phillips)


The Irishman, Martin ScorseseJoker, Todd Phillips1917, Sam MendesOnce Upon A Time…In Hollywood, Quentin TarantinoParasite, Bong Joon Ho *WINNER*

Documentary (Feature)

American Factory (Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert) *WINNER*The Cave (Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær)The Edge of Democracy (Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris and Tiago Pavan)For Sama (Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts)Honeyland (Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska and Atanas Georgiev)

Documentary (Short Subject)

In The Absence (Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam)Learning To Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re A Girl) (Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva) *WINNER*Life Overtakes Me (John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson)St. Louis Superman (Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan)Walk Run Cha-Cha (Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt)

Film Editing

Ford V Ferrari (Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland) *WINNER*The Irishman (Thelma Schoonmaker)Jojo Rabbit (Tom Eagles)Joker (Jeff Groth)Parasite (Yang Jinmo)

International Feature Film

Corpus Christi, PolandHoneyland, North MacedoniaLes Misérables, FrancePain and Glory, SpainParasite, South Korea *WINNER*

Makeup and Hairstyling

Bombshell (Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker) *WINNER*Joker (Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou)Judy (Jeremy Woodhead)Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White)1917 (Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole)

Music (Original Score)

Joker, Hildur Guðnadóttir *WINNER*Little Women, Alexandre DesplatMarriage Story, Randy Newman1917, Thomas NewmanStar Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

Music (Original Song)

I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away (from Toy Story 4; Music and Lyric by Randy Newman)(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again (from Rocketman; Music by Elton John; Lyric by Bernie Taupin) *WINNER*I’m Standing With You (from Breakthrough; Music and Lyric by Diane Warren)Into The Unknown (from Frozen II; Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez)Stand Up (from Harriet; Music and Lyric by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo)

Production Design

The Irishman (Production Design: Bob Shaw; Set Decoration: Regina Graves)Jojo Rabbit (Production Design: Ra Vincent; Set Decoration: Nora Sopková)1917 (Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Lee Sandales)Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood (Production Design: Barbara Ling; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh) *WINNER*Parasite (Production Design: Lee Ha Jun; Set Decoration: Cho Won Woo)

Short Film (Animated)

Dcera (Daughter) (Daria Kashcheeva)Hair Love (Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver) *WINNER*Kitbull (Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson)Memorable (Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre)Sister (Siqi Song)

Short Film (Live Action)

Brotherhood (Meryam Joobeur and Maria Gracia Turgeon)Nefta Football Club (Yves Piat and Damien Megherbi)The Neighbours’ Window (Marshall Curry) *WINNER*Saria (Bryan Buckley and Matt Lefebvre)A Sister (Delphine Girard)

Sound Editing

Ford V Ferrari (Donald Sylvester) *WINNER*Joker (Alan Robert Murray)1917 (Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate)Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood (Wylie Stateman)Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (Matthew Wood and David Acord)

Sound Mixing

Ad Astra (Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulano)Ford V Ferrari (Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Steven A. Morrow)Joker (Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic and Tod Maitland)1917 (Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson) *WINNER*Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood (Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler and Mark Ulano)

Visual Effects

Avengers: Endgame (Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick)The Irishman (Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli)The Lion King (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman)1917 (Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy) *WINNER*Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy)

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

The Irishman (Screenplay by Steven Zaillian)Jojo Rabbit (Screenplay by Taika Waititi) *WINNER*Joker (Written by Todd Phillips & Scott Silver)Little Women (Written for the screen by Greta Gerwig)The Two Popes (Written by Anthony McCarten)

Writing (Original Screenplay)

Knives Out (Written by Rian Johnson)Marriage Story (Written by Noah Baumbach)1917 (Written by Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns)Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood (Written by Quentin Tarantino)Parasite (Screenplay by Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won; Story by Bong Joon Ho) *WINNER*

Congratulation to all the winners! For more information, visit this website.

Explore More