MCO 3.0: Total lockdown across Malaysia from 1 June to 14 June


By Adelina Tan

MCO 3.0: Total lockdown across Malaysia from 1 June to 14 June

For the latest lockdown/FMCO updates and SOPs, click here.

Updated: 30 May 2021

For easy reference, we’ve compiled the lockdown SOPs effective from 1 to 14 June 2021—plus a list of essential economic and service sectors allowed to operate—here.

Updated: 28 May 2021

The office of Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has announced a nationwide total lockdown that will come into effect from 1 June to 14 June. Under this lockdown, only essential economic and service sectors, as defined by the National Security Council (NSC), will be allowed to operate. This list will be issued soon by the NSC.

The goverment’s decision takes into account the large increase in new Covid-19 cases within the country, which has exceeded 8,000 cases daily. Another reason given for a total lockdown is the existence of more virulent new variants; these spread rapidly to the lungs and are linked to higher death rates.

This lockdown is considered to be “Phase One”. Should it succeed in reducing the daily number of Covid-19 cases after 14 June, the government will implement “Phase Two” whereby some economic sectors will be allowed to operate again, provided physical distancing is possible and no large gatherings are involved.

Updated: 22 May 2021

Due to the huge increase in Malaysia’s number of new Covid-19 cases and higher fatality rates, Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced tighter SOPs for MCO 3.0 in Peninsula Malaysia and the Federal Territory of Labuan. These will come into effect from 25 May.

New MCO SOPs (Peninsula Malaysia and Labuan):

  • Dine-in is not allowed. However, food and beverage outlets, including food trucks and food stalls, are allowed to open from 8am to 8pm for takeaway and deliveries. Park and dine services are not allowed.
  • Business are allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm.
  • Pharmacies, however, can open from 8am to 10pm.
  • Night markets can open between 4pm and 8pm.
  • Petrol stations can stay open from 8am to 8pm, while those at highway rest stops are allowed to operate 24 hours a day.
  • Hospitals, clinics and medical laboratories will operate as usual.
  • Public transport must limit passenger capacity to no more 50 per cent.
  • 40 per cent of private sector staff, and 80 per cent of government employees, must work from home at any given time.
  • Inter-district and interstate travel is not allowed except for emergencies, health, work, vaccination appointments and long-distance couples.
  • Only three people (including the driver) are allowed per vehicle whether private, taxis or e-hailing.
  • All social gatherings (including feasts, wedding and engagement celebrations, dinners, birthday celebrations, and official events including seminars and face-to-face meetings) for both the government and private sector are prohibited.
  • The solemnisation of marriage vows is allowed based on SOPs set by religious authorities or the National Registration Department.
  • All schools and educational institutions must close, with exceptions made only for students taking international examinations.
  • Nurseries and kindergartens can remain open subject to SOPs.
  • Individual sports and recreational activities are allowed outdoors with social distancing. Contact sports and indoor recreational activities are not allowed.

READ: Do pulse oximeters actually detect if you have Covid-19 and should you get one?

Updated: 10 May 2021

A nationwide MCO has been announced by Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin. It will start in states and areas currently not under the MCO on 12 May and last until 7 June. All current MCO areas will also be affected by the extension.

The Prime Minister also said SOPs will be tightened in an attempt to curb local transmissions. Interstate and inter-district travel bans are effective immediately in all states.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by BURO Malaysia (@buromalaysia)

SOPs for Raya:

  • Hari Raya visits are not allowed.
  • No open houses during the festivity in all areas.
  • Hari Raya prayers in mosques and suraus are allowed. The limit is 50 people at a time for premises that can fit more than 1,000 pax, and 20 for those that can accommodate fewer than 1,000.
  • Cemetery visits are not allowed.

Updated: 5 May 2021


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by BURO Malaysia (@buromalaysia)

Kuala Lumpur will be placed under the movement control order from May 7 to 20, said Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

This decision to extend the MCO from six districts in Selangor to include KL comes after amidst a rise in new cases daily. Moreover, from April 1 to 27,17 new clusters were recorded in KL.

The SOPs for KL’s MCO will follow those set for the six affected districts in Selangor. Scroll down for the list, plus the Raya SOPs for all (MCO, CMCO and RMCO) areas.

4 May 2021:

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced that six districts in Selangor will be placed under the movement control order (MCO).  The six are Hulu Langat, Petaling, Gombak, Klang, Kuala Langat, and Sepang. This decision follows a sharp increase in Covid-19 cases within Selangor recently.

Three other districts in Selangor—Kuala Selangor, Sabak Bernam and Ulu Selangor—will remain under the conditional movement control order (CMCO).

The Senior Minister said the closure of Ramadan bazaars in Selangor will be at the state government’s discretion.

We will update this article once further news and SOPs are announced by the relevant authorities.

For more Covid-19 news and updates, click here.

Explore More