Malaysia finally has its full list of Cabinet ministers for 2018 onwards


By Rachel Au

Malaysia finally has its full list of Cabinet ministers for 2018 onwards

It’s been almost two months after the May 9 general election and today, Malaysia finally has its full Cabinet. Prior to today’s ceremony before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V, only 13 MPs were appointed. We’ve covered the appointment of the country’s first female Deputy Prime Minister and even more recently, had an exclusive chat with Hannah Yeoh on what it takes to be a female politician. Now, here are the rest of the Cabinet ministers appointed to lead Malaysia to a new era.


Names marked with (*) were sworn in today. 


Prime Minister 

Tun Dr Mahathir bin Mohamad


Deputy Prime Minister / Minister of Women, Family and Community Development

Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah binti Wan Ismail

*Deputy: Hannah Yeoh


Minister of Home Affairs

Tan Sri Muhyiddin bin Yassin

*Deputy: Azis Jamman


Minister of Finance

Lim Guan Eng

*Deputy: Amiruddin Hamzah


Minister of Defence 

Haji Mohamad bin Sabu


Minister of Education

Dr. Maszlee Malik

*Deputy: Teo Nie Ching


Minister of Health

Dr. Haji Dzulkefly bin Ahmad

*Deputy: Dr Lee Boon Chye


Minister of Housing and Local Government

Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin


Minister of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry

Haji Salahuddin Ayub

*Deputy: Sim Tze Tzin


Minister of Rural Development

Rina Harun

*Deputy: R. Sivarasa


Minister of Communications and Multimedia

Gobind Singh Deo

*Deputy: Eddin Syazlee


Minister of Economic Affairs

Dato’ Seri Mohamed Azmin bin Ali


Minister of Transport

Anthony Loke

*Deputy: Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar


Minister of Human Resources 

Kula Segaran a/l V. Murugeson

*Deputy: Datuk Mahfuz Omar



*The following names were sworn in today:



Foreign Affairs Minister

Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah


Youth and Sports Minister

Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman

Deputy: Steven Sim


Domestic Trade and Consumers Affairs Minister

Datuk Saifuddin Nasution

Deputy: Chong Chieng Jen


Natural Resources and Environment Minister

Dr Xavier Jayakumar

Deputy: Tengku Zulpuri Shah


Primary Industries Minister

Teresa Kok

Deputy: Shamsul Iskandar Md Akin


Public Works Minister

Baru Bian

Deputy: Annuar Mohd Tahir


Federal Territories Minister

Khalid Samad

Deputy: Datuk Dr Shahruddin Md Salleh


Energy, Green Technology, Science and Climate Change Minister

Yeo Bee Yin

Deputy: Isnaraissah Munirah Majlilis


Tourism, Culture and Arts Minister

Datuk Mohamad Din Ketapi

Deputy: Muhammad Bakhtiar Wan Chik


Entrepreneur and Co-operative Development Minister

Redzuan Yusof

Deputy: Dr Mohd Hatta Md Ramli


Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Judicial Affairs)

Datuk Liew Vui Keong

Deputy: Mohamed Hanipa Maidin


Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Islamic Affairs)

Datuk Dr Mujahid Yusof Rawa

Deputy: Dr Fuziah Salleh


Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Unity and Social Harmony): Dr Md Farid Rafik


International Trade and Industry Minister

Darell Leiking

Deputy: Dr Ong Kian Ming


As you can tell from the list above, there are still some vacant positions — essentially, a minister (there’s only a deputy in the Prime Minister’s Department — Unity and Social Harmony) and three deputy ministers (Defence, Economic and Foreign Affairs). According to The Star’s sources, “these could be positions reserved for those who will be appointed as senators.” Only time will tell.

Explore More