Here are the finalists for 2017 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund

New wave


By Joan Kong

Here are the finalists for 2017 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund

It’s that time of the year again; every year since 2003, the competition helps to foster up-and-coming designers (who are based in the US) with a series of challenges, including a show at Chateau Marmont in Los Angeles. For this year, the 10 nominees are: Ahlem Manai-Platt of Ahnem; Becca McCharen-Tran of Chromat; Christopher Bevans of Dyne; Victor Glemaud; Jordan Askill; Matthew Harris of Mateo New York; Eli Azran of RTA; Sandy Liang; Telfar Clements of Telfar LLC; and Patrick Dicaprio, Bryn Taubensee, David Moses and Claire Sully of Vequera.

2016 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund winner, Brock Collection


Unlike the previous year though, there’s been a shake-up in the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund committee. Besides returning judges such as CFDA chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg, Vogue’s fashion news director Mark Holgate, Nordstrom fashion director Jeffrey Kalinsky and CEO of Theory, Inc. Andrew Rosen, the competition has four new judges in the panel: director of Vogue Runway Nicole Phelps; Eva Chen, head of fashion partnerships at Instagram; Joseph Altuzarra, fashion designer of his namesake label; and fashion director at Sakes Fifth Avenue, Roopal Patel.


The winner will receive a USD$400,000 cash prize, and the two runner-ups will get USD$150,000 each, in addition to the mentorship from the committee.


Related story:

Who wore (and won) what at the CFDA Fashion Awards 2017 


Explore More