Kazuo Ishiguro is awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize for Literature

Well deserved


By Su Fen Tan

Kazuo Ishiguro is awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize for Literature

Kazuo Ishiguro, who has published seven novels in his writing career, has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for his work of “great emotional force” that has “uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world”.


Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki in Japan but moved to the UK when he was five. He graduated from University of Kent with a Bachelor of Arts (honours) in English and Philosophy, and later gained a Master of Arts in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia. His master’s thesis was later published as his first novel in 1982, titled A Pale View of Hills.


“If you mix Jane Austen and Franz Kafka then you have Kazuo Ishiguro in a nutshell, but you have to add a little bit of Marcel Proust into the mix,” said Sara Danius, permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy.


Aside from A Pale View of Hills and The Buried Giant, all of Ishiguro’s work has been shortlisted for major awards. The Remains of the Day was awarded the 1989 Man Booker Prize, and the film adaptation starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson was nominated for eight Academy Awards. The dystopian science fiction novel Never Let Me Go was also adapted into film.


Ishiguro is currently working on a new novel, with a couple of theatre projects and several film adaptations of his books in the works.


Related stories:

5 Books that should be on every #BossGirl’s reading list

Bob Dylan wins 2016 Nobel Prize for Literature

Malala Yousafzai talks life after winning a Nobel Peace Prize

Explore More